Frequently Asked Questions

Is your online defensive driving course DMV approved?
Yes! Our online course is New York State Department of Motor Vehicles approved.

NY Driving Class QuestionsHow long will it take me to complete the online course?
New York State law requires that the course must be 6 hours. We know that this may seem like a long period of time, but you do have the ability to take the course over numerous sessions.

How often can I take the course?
You may take the defensive driving course every 3 years to maintain your insurance reduction benefits and once every 18 months to have points reduced from your driving record.

Will I receive a car insurance discount once I have completed the course?
Absolutely! New York State law guarantees that anyone who completes a DMV approved defensive driving course will receive a 10% discount on their no-fault, collision, and liability coverages for 3 years.

How do I obtain my insurance discount?
It’s simple! We will mail you a completion certificate once you have completed the course. Provide this certificate to your insurance company and they will apply the discount to your policy. Many insurance company will accept a fax or e-mail copy, but some may require the original.

How do I obtain the point reduction and how many points will be reduced?
We will electronically notify the Department of Motor Vehicles and inform them that you have completed the course. They will automatically reduce the points from your record. Completing the course will reduce up to 4 points from your record.

Will I receive a car insurance discount once I have completed the course?
Absolutely! New York State law guarantees that anyone who completes a DMV approved defensive driving course will receive a 10% discount on their no-fault, collision, and liability coverages for 3 years.

Can I still receive a point reduction if I have no points on my license?
No.The point reduction only applies to violations that you have received in the 18 months prior to taking the course. The reduction cannot be applied to future violations. You cannot reduce your point total below zero.

How long to do I have to complete the course?
Once you register, you have 30 days to complete the course.